Rainy day fun on a sunny day

I grew up in the Pacific Northwest part of the US. We had many many rainy days and although we did go out and play in the rain on occasion, we always had things we would “save for a rainy day”. In the PNW that rainy day was always just around the corner.
750px-BIG_LEAF_MAPLES_HOH

Now we live in the desert. This is just one of many reasons that my kids don’t have the kind of childhood I enjoyed. And saving things for a rainy day means an entirely different thing.

carlsbad

Still, there are many days that are just too hot to go out and enjoy the natural beauty of the desert. So…. I decided to use my childhood “rainy day” activities as “hot day” activities for my kids. Today we started with one of my favorites, and there are many more to come…

puzzles

How do you spend a rainy day (or too hot day)?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainy day fun on a sunny day

  1. Elaina says:

    I wanted to request permission to use your puzzle image above in an article I’m writing on family activities for SheKnows.com. If you could please let me know ASAP, I would appreciate it. Thank you (rush deadline)!

  2. DividingBy10 says:

    Yes, Elaina, you may use the photo. I look forward to the article.

Leave a Reply

