Appreciating those teachers…

Teacher Appreciation week is here and I’m looking for a good way to make my kids’ teachers feel appreciated. Because “it’s not the gift but the thought that counts” – right? I know many of you think that means showing them you thought of them is what counts. I’m going to respectfully disagree with you here.

I think the “thought” that is referred to here may just be the amount of thought put into the gift – not the fact that you thought of them. Does that make sense? I mean you can give teachers all Starbucks gift cards (and I know many would love that), but did you think about the gift enough to remember that Mrs. English teacher doesn’t drink Coffee? Sure there are there things you can get with a Starbucks card, so maybe that’s not the best example, but do you get what I mean?

So here are my kids yesterday potting flowers to give to their teachers because it was an inexpensive and pretty thing to do (CuriousGirl wanted a gift for each of her 7 “teachers”: Home room, assistant, Principal, library, Outdoor Living Environment, computers, and music).

teacher appreciation

But today I am reflecting and wondering if we could do something a little more thoughtful – at least for each child’s home room teacher. It’ll require talking to each child about what their teacher likes and discussing how we can find a gift that they will really appreciate. Now, THAT is the thought that counts. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

