Random Acts of kindness

For lent this year I decided to do an act of kindness each day.
Wed:Valentines cup cakes to neighbor family.
Thurs: rice krispy kiss to bus driver
Fri:Planned to give treats to star watchers but could not find them.
Sat: rice krispy kiss to hostess of AAUW work day.
Sun: Beer bread to a different neighbor.
Mon: a surprise comic book for Daddy from the little ones.
Tues: mailed letters to 2 friends I haven’t spoken to in a long time.
Wed: fail
Thurs: sent unexpected gift to a friend
Fri:picked up paper/package for a neighbor who is out of town
Sat: lead a cub scout activity to gine someone else a break
Sun: unexpectedly took treats to a meeting
Mon: fail
Tues:Helped soccer coach we don’t know to set up/clean up for practice
Wed:a Walmart gift card to daughter’s teacher
Thurs: gave a little pack of activities and gifts to my daughter’s classmate who is moving
Fri: traveling, so I gave
Sat: gave out goodies to ladies at my training
Sun: horrible day traveling – I totally forgot.
Mon: fruit bowl to another neighbor
Tues: took a friend to coffee
Wed: went to lunch with a new friend, but she insisted on paying. My turn next time.
Thurs: Wrote letters to 3 ladies
Fri: Went to lunch with one of the teachers (not my kids’ teacher)
Sat: cookies for neighbors
Sun:

This is harder than I thought it would be. Time to turn it up more!

Sadly, I will have to count this as a fail. Doing an act of kindness every day is either harder than I thought, or I need to count little things I do anyway like opening doors, reaching groceries on shelves, distracting crying children, etc. On the other hand I do those minor things pretty regularly, so I guess it’s not a total fail.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Acts of kindness

  1. This is one of the best modern movements ever….everyone is so busy and to think people are taking time to think of ways to make time for strangers is awesome….

  2. lisachappa says:

    I loooove Starbucks for RAK, and today we head to “SlightlyBiggerTown” where I can buy someone a beverage 🙂 That should give me good Starbucks Karma.

  3. Que Fregados says:

    Love this idea! I’m not a Lent follower but anyone can incorporate this kind of an idea and make the world just a little better 🙂

    • lisachappa says:

      I did not grow up giving things up for lent. However, I love the idea. 40 days of dropping a bad habit or starting a good one – it’s the perfect amount of time. I also love that so many people are doing this all at once. It kind of creates a powerful common positive energy. I see facebook posts, websites, and even talk to people who are making a positive change for these special 40 days. I want to be a part of that.

Leave a Reply

